A little is enough when done with great love!

The prospect of going from our winter into a mid-west American winter and missing most of our summer, is certainly not the most pleasant of thoughts…. BUT… on winter days like today when the temperature is a “balmy” 12 degrees, my french doors are open to the deck, washing is outside (what a thought!)  and I can relax about Fuzz and mud… I say THANK YOU GOD!!! 🙂

Sunshine the bookworm… can’t put the book down even to eat her afternoon tea!

Fuzz eyeing up Master Luke’s fruit kebab 🙂

After a few weeks of VERY wet weather, the sunshine is delectable! I’m so sure my exhausted and at times ratty children were due to lack of Vitamin D and the general “pick me up” that is fresh air!

I have heard it mentioned often amongst bloggers, facebookers and general social media gurus, that being a mum is especially hard today as their is SO much advice being given and so many mums out there who seem to be doing a better job than yourself. I too am prone to this comparison game, particularly in the area of home making and the faith formation of my children. At the beginning of the year at a Catholic family camp, a wonderful friend of mine and I were giving a talk on motherhood and we brought this topic up. A friend of ours said to me something along the lines of… “But who says you should be these things? Why do YOU feel like you should compare?”.

I felt humbled… as indeed in the grand scheme of things, why should I compare myself? Why should any of us feel as if there is a certain list of achievements or comestic attributes we should tick off before we can hold our chins up as parents and home makers… as women?

I can only answer this question for myself…

It is because I know perfection in Jesus Christ and I know perfection in motherhood through Our Lady…

Do I measure up?

NO

I am like a sieve, ugly and full of holes next to a perfectly carved wooden bowl, glossy and radiant…

This is what I see, but what God sees is so different. I am a growing tree, it’s branches spread, bearing beautiful fruit and weathering many storms. One day, He will fashion from me a vessel, truly worthy of Himself… but for now I must not compare but do what I can, when I can and ALL IN LOVE! 🙂

So to celebrate the Queenship of Mary (22nd August) I pinned heaps of ideas on Pinterest, dreamed up a whole week of activities and devotions, got all sure of my ability to give my children the best foundation of faith…. and then watched as my plans crumbled. Busy days, swimming lessons, teething toddlers, bad sleeps, driving over 250km around town, dishes, washing and more washing… ate away at my time and energy. Tuesday night came along and I knew that once again I was going to “fail” at providing an enriched experience of Catholic tradition for my children…

… then God intervened…

11:30pm I am struck with the simple, wonderful thought…

“Do the children see what you haven’t done or do they see what you have?”

I jumped out of bed, ran to the school room…. looked for gold paper…. none…. sparkly purple foam? that’ll do Ruth, that’ll do! Blue material… blue material… where can I find blue material? Blue paper! I’ll use paper…. grab the rosary beads, our beautiful Mary statue, family prayer candle…. BALLOONS! I have blue balloons left over from Curly Sue’s birthday!

I soon had our breakfast table decorated with a simple centre piece, Mary crowned in sparkly purple foam surrounded by rosary beads. Each chair had a blue balloon and the best part was the peace which I felt :). I had done SOMETHING…. maybe not what I would have liked… but something 🙂

I was greeted in the morning by genuine, pure delight from Curly Sue and Master Luke!

“Mary’s crown is so beautiful mummy!” – Master Luke

“Boo balloons mum just like Mary’s boo!” – Curly Sue

 Happy, babbling noises from Xavier as he gave Mary cuddles and took her crown on and off!

I have certainly learnt a valuable lesson this week!

To sign of this post I want to leave you with three images of the crowning of Mary that my kids chose themselves 🙂

Master Luke chose this one because “It just jumped out at me and said YES!”

Sunshine chose this one because “I like the way she is drawn rising up to heaven”

(more the assumption…but that was last week so it still counts! :))

Curly Sue chose this one because “she has a really big cape!”

Mary Queen of Heaven… pray for us!

Blessings!

Ruth

 

What do you think?

