Spring has sprung, the grass is riz, I wonder where dem daffy’s is?

It has been a LONG time since my fingers blogged and I apologise for my absence πŸ™‚

The business of life with four children and homeschooling never ceases to amaze me (and on a bad day overwhelm me! :))

We are currently half way through a two week stint of swimming lessons. To be able to have lessons during the day rather than before dinner time is a blessing, but I have a big job each day getting everyone sorted, little ones looked after and a drive across town and back again to fit into my already very full schedule. There is also the daily challenge to my patience and unconditional love that is a highly sensitive Sunshine mixed with swimming…

Togs are tight, goggles are uncomfortable and claustrophobic, chlorine tastes yuck, towels are scratchy, wet skin is irritating, damp hair is stressful… and I take a DEEP breath πŸ™‚

The silver lining to my beautiful girls sensitivity though in a situation like this, is the elation of success! The bright, jubilant voice that rings out across the entire complex… “Look Mummy I did it!!!”, is a wonderful thing, Β at times an embarrassing thing, but special non the less! πŸ™‚

In my absence from blogging, there have been many triumphs in our homeschooling of Sunshine and Master Luke which I will touch on briefly, as they are such gifts…

– Sunshine’s reading has taken off to a whole new level! She sits now whenever she can curled up with a book and is happy to read to Master Luke and Curly Sue for literally hours :). It is such a bonding experience for them all and I sit and watch my babes with immense warm fuzzies in my heart. (GREAT book called “Usborne Illustrated Stories for Children” has been the best recent buy… definitely worth checking out!)

Image

– After 1 1/2 years of homeschooling, Sunshine is finally attempting to write again and it is with tears in my eyes that I see her focused and confident to put her ideas on paper… there will be great rejoicing when the first glorious story emerges in her own hand πŸ™‚

– Master Luke is speeding ahead with his reading program “How to teach your child to read in 100 easy lessons”. I had the fortune of buying this book for 50c at our curriculum fair last year, and it is proving to be just the right thing for my 5 year old πŸ™‚

Image

– We are building up to Sunshine’s first communion at the end of the year and the older two have been asking some truly beautiful questions about their faith! Their depth and insight brings me such joy and to be honest, if the only thing I leave them with is a faith and love of God…. I would have done enough! In this world that presents such an ugly face so often, the gift of faith is the most important and precious treasure to bestow on the next generation… Mary Queen of Heaven pray for all Mothers and Fathers, that they may embrace this call wholeheartedly!!!

So… just a few wee jewels from the past couple of months πŸ™‚

God has also been doing quite the spring clean of my head and heart, and thank God for a patient and understanding hubby who has borne the brunt of many a flood gate. I am excited about where He is leading me as a Wife, Mother and teacher.

Image

At Mass on Sunday when Curly Sue was performing her spectacular Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde routine, I felt the gentle nudge from Our Lord and my mind was awash in some new ideas for our daily routine. It is SO “tempting” and I use that word for a reason, not to take children to mass because of scenarios like we had yesterday…. BUT as disruptive and distracting as they can be, the presence of Christ and the power of the Sacrament are NOT diminished and can be just as active on our souls if we can turn our eyes and hearts to Him above the circus πŸ™‚

So this morning we tried something new πŸ™‚

I laid the table last night for breakfast and made hubby’s lunch for the next day.

We then got up early and I got the children up as well. Now this is an easy task with Curly Sue and Master Luke, as they are usually in our bed after 5am anyway, but for Sunshine, the wake up, get up and get dressed sequence is one of my least favorite parts of the day. This morning, as if God was proving a point, which He obviously was, I woke Sunshine up. Explaining to her that we would all eat breakfast together before Daddy left for work, I was rather pleasantly surprised to be greeted with a radiant smile and a child who not only got out of bed quickly but proceeded to get through her routine without daydreaming!!! Oh the simple joys πŸ™‚

Breakfast was lovely! We all sat together, ate together and to finish prayed a decade of the Rosary πŸ™‚

And the fruit has been a MUCH more peaceful day and very content and happy children…

Now to have the grace to continue and make more little changes πŸ™‚

Spring has sprung!

I’m looking forward to seeing more flowers πŸ™‚

Blessings!

Ruth πŸ™‚

What do you think?

