Digging up the past!

QUOTE OF THE DAY: “Mummy, when I grow up I’m going to be an archaeologist engineer artist!” = Master Luke

RESOURCE OF THE TERM: The Story of the World Volume 1: Ancient Times

Day 8: Archaeology

Our family history lap books are progressing slowly, but we are having so much fun learning about our Green family tree! Great Granddad had many stories and facts to share when he was down at the weekend, and Sunshine surprised me by being a very attentive listener to an old man :).ย 

The air’s icy breath today felt too up close and personal, so I manned up and tackled the uncut wood outside. Picture me, hubbies gardening jersey, scarf, purple fluffy slipper boots, one foot firmly planted, the other on the free standing vice, wielding the saw! Cue Sunshine…”Mummy, isn’t that Daddy’s job?” (pitying tone of voice). Let’s just say, the wood got cut, our house is warm and I have one arm that has gone on strike ๐Ÿ™‚

After a long babble, the point I was making (eventually!)… was that I felt today was a snuggle up in front of the fire and read kind of school day. Therefore, we skipped ahead with great anticipation to Archaeology! ๐Ÿ™‚

The brief half chapter in the read aloud book is basic but a good start. I was pleased however that I had purchased in advance, a supplementary book about the topic written for children. It is one of the suggested books in The Story of the World activity book, and after reading it today, I would wholeheartedly recommend it!!

Image

Archaeologist Dig For Clues by Kate Duke

Published in 1997 by Harper Colins Publishers, this book isย reminiscent in style of the Magic School bus series. It is jam packed with information about Archaic times and archaeological methods. Some of the information flew a little too high over my kids heads, but the pictures and diagrams were very engaging. As Master Luke’s quote from above shows, their interest in the subject was lit and they have spent the rest of the afternoon looking through old National Geographic magazines for anything to do with archaeology! ๐Ÿ™‚

I would put this as a MUST HAVE resource to compliment Volume 1: Ancient Times ๐Ÿ™‚

MUMMY CHALLENGE AND THOUGHT OF THE DAY:

Oh how I am struggling at the moment with maintaining peace in my house! Between a super sensitive big girl, a hyperdrive charged talkative brain of an almost 5 year old, a raging bull of a 2 year old and a just walking 11month old… who needs to say more! ๐Ÿ™‚

This week I have lost my temper, raised my voice to a level anyone would be ashamed of, and have been too rough in my marching to time out… not easy to confess that’s for sure.

Honesty…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Curly Sue has remarkable rage for such a cute wee poppet! Her sense of independence, ownership, even justice ignites an inferno in her belly and erupts through her vocal chords. My ears and those of the other children, have been abused this week quite significantly.

Gazing into the soothing, glow of the fire last night, the only sound audible being the crackle and tick… I took a deep breath!

How, Lord Jesus, am I going to get us through this stormy sea?

Wake up Master, and calm the storm!

This morning… I received my answer ๐Ÿ™‚

“But I shall show you a more excellent way!” 1 Corinthians 12:31

In His direct answer, the “way” is still not divulged (typical! :)), but I felt a great peace and a new motivation to LOVE… to LOVE until I hurt, to LOVE until I bled… to LOVE completely out of Trust, that God would be there too!

This picture is what finished my prayer time…ย 

Image

ย 

Blessings!

Ruth

One comment

What do you think?

