Call me a sculptor not a Yummy mummy…

“What can be greater than to direct the souls and form the characters of children?
Indeed I consider him greater than any painter or sculptors, who knows how to fashion the souls of the young.” (St. John Chrysostom, Doctor of the Church)

Image

(mother and child by gail glikmann)

After a beautiful, busy, “Alleluia” filled long weekend, I am now straight into preparations for a family camp this coming weekend. I am helping to run a discussion time on true motherhood, a topic I feel passionately about, as I am sure you already gather 🙂

Tonight I ask you some questions 🙂 (these can be answered by those who are mothers, fathers or anyone who has an opinion!)

What is motherhood to you?

What different types of mother do you see?

What does a successful mother look like?

What do you struggle with in your role as mother? (obviously this one is for mothers only 🙂 )

Do you feel like you have lost your identity?

Where is satisfaction found in motherhood?

I would really really appreciate ANY comments as it will help my research greatly! You can comment below by clicking the add comment button bottom right hand corner of post or go to my Facebook page and comment there 🙂

“The most important person on earth is a mother. She cannot claim the honor of having built Notre Dame Cathedral. 

She need not.

She has built something more magnificent than any cathedral – a dwelling for an immortal soul,  the tiny perfection of her baby’s body..
The angels have not been blessed with such a grace.                                                                                                           They cannot share in God’s creative miracle to bring new saints to Heaven…
What on God’s good earth is more glorious than this: to be a mother?”

(Joseph Cardinal Mindszenty)

Blessings!

Ruth

4 comments

  1. Motherhood = nurturing the growth of our kids, should be in conjunction with the significant other people in our children’s lives – father, grandparents, aunties, uncles, close friends, etc

    Types of mothers? Working / busy / laid back / OCD / balanced … bit of a tough question as you could have infinite numbers of answers!

    Successful = Has happy, thriving children; is also happy & thriving within herself

    Struggles = many! Main ones – juggling children time with housework (bah housework); keeping on going when I don’t feel like it

    Lost identity? Sometimes … there are things I used to be able to do which are harder now. Think it’s more about realising identity is not fixed but changing … so it’s about moving with it. Though definitely a sense of loss for some parts of ‘old’ identity.

    Satisfaction = Seeing your children grow, achieve, learn, be comfortable with themselves … having a clean house (though this doesn’t happen very often!!!)

    Hope that helps – haven’t thought very deeply about it, so definitely just my first thoughts! Enjoy the family camp x

    1. Thanks Sam for your honest feedback 🙂
      It has taken me 7 years to really start the process of letting go of my old identity and to allow God to show me the new, ever changing, ever growing me… wife, mother and most importantly… His child 🙂
      God has such a fantastic future for you and I will pray that you will be able to see that even on those bogged under sleep deprived, housework overloaded days!

  2. Motherhood for me has been a gift. It is a role I feel natural in. My kids have been my rock and rainbow in life. I can’t imagine going through life without experiencing the role of mother.

    1. That is so beautiful Sofia! Your children are blessed to have such a committed, creative and loving mum :). Your blog speaks volumes about your devotion to them and their futures! Thanks for commenting 🙂

What do you think?

