Da Vinci meets Greens

QUOTE OF THE DAY: Actually more just something that happened :)…

After our maths lesson today, Sunshine, Master Luke and I played the card game Snap. Master Luke is finally getting the hang of this game but after one round of playing for matching numbers, we changed it to matching suits. This was a little too much for him and there was much giggling and silliness as he got muddled… I eventually said “Oh stop giggling and keep your eye on the game!”…. to which he face planted, eye glued to the cards!!! πŸ™‚ Still at the literal stage πŸ™‚

RESOURCE OF THE DAY: Leonardo da Vinci’s Last Supper

Being a REALLY big fan of Da VInci, I was very excited to see this fantastic resource pinned on Pinterest. Lacy, a fantastic, creative and generous home schooling mum and the lady behind catholicicing.com, has made a fantastic reproducible activity based on Da Vinci’s famous Last Supper painting.

Image

We have a wonderful set of Fine Art books that I have inherited and Sunshine in particular loves pouring over them on a regular basis. As we are in Holy Week, I thought that this activity would be a great way of mixing a little art history with faith formation πŸ™‚

This is our finished product….

Image

Sunshine and Curly Sue coloured in the characters and Master Luke helped with constructing the egg box table and sticking everyone on. A lovely team effort and something that will take pride of place over this Easter weekend.

If you want to give it a try yourself or keep it for next year, the link is as follows…

http://catholicicing.com/2010/03/holy-thursday-last-supper-craft/

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did! Little tip… find a picture of the original painting and get the children to work out which disciple is which and where they go on the table ( you could tell them, but then what’s the fun in that! πŸ™‚ )

Thanks Lacy for another fantastic resource onΒ http://catholicicing.com

MUMMY THOUGHT OF THE DAY:

As I couldn’t find my Magnificat (www.magnificat.com) or prayer journal this morning, I picked up my childhood bible which was closest to me. It opened onto Revelations and as I was an avid highlighter in my earlier days, a bright blue section caught my eye.

Revelations chapter 4 & 5…. John sees heaven…

Being a very visual person, my heart and mind were again swept heavenwards by these powerful and awe inspiring words! This part in particular has stuck with me today and so therefore I wanted to share it…

” They all sang a new song to the Lamb:

You are worthy to take the scroll and to open its seals,

because you were killed;

and with the blood of your death you bought men for God from every tribe, language, people, and nation.

You made them to be a kingdom of priests for our God.

And they will rule on the earth.” Β (Rev 5:9-10)

May God bless you all in these days leading up to Easter with eyes and ears open to his Word!

Ruth

2 comments

  1. What a great for a craft/coloring activity. My son would really enjoy doing something like this. Thanks for sharing the idea.

What do you think?

