Alone and inspired

An unexpected gift today πŸ™‚

All four precious treasures are with Grandma and Grandad for the afternoon and hubby is catching up on some work.

So here I am… alone and inspired, resisting the urge to “Autumn clean” and instead PAINT!

I so often get asked what I did before I had children, as if what I did before somehow proved my value and place in society. A career, a profession, some sort of training, a degree… anything to substantiate my existence and allow me to now be nothing but a housewife and mother. I know that those who ask such a question are not thinking necessarily all the above points :)… but it sure feels like it some days!Β 

So what did I do…

I lived πŸ™‚

I loved πŸ™‚

I had many adventures and allowed God to refine me and mould me into the beginnings of a wife and mother that I am still learning to become now πŸ™‚

If you want more concrete details I was a youth worker, a retail assistant, a first year university student majoring in Art History and Anthropology, a singer and an artist πŸ™‚Β 

I loved to draw, to design, to paint and create and it is this part of me (along with others) that I now channel into home education and motherhood.

BUT today has reminded me how much LIFE I receive from letting God work through my heart and hands in paint!

I have been asked to paint panels for the front of a refurbished Tabernacle… and I feel so humbled to be the one decorating Our Lord’s dwelling! I can understand on a very little scale what some of the great Masters must have felt adorning the ceilings, walls and altars of the beautiful cathedrals and churches around the world. Art is life giving, Sacred Art is sanctifying, because it requires you to humble yourself before THE Creator and allow him to fashion you into His image more and more. One cannot paint about God and not allow God to be the painter! πŸ™‚

Image

So alone (for a little longer πŸ™‚ ) and inspired to pray as I paint… I leave you with this quote

β€œArtistic talent is a gift from God and whoever discovers it in himself has a certain obligation: to know that he cannot waste this talent, but must develop it.” 
― Pope John Paul II

How do you develop your artistic talents?

Blessings

Ruth

5 comments

  1. Hi, great blog.

    Long have I dwelt on the poor quality of sacred art in our churches in CHCH. We have opted for “art” that consists of felt, ribbons and other scraps of material that cost about $20. Why do our parishes seem so unwilling to show forth the beauty of our faith in artistic ways? Sure, there is the odd statue or icon, to which many people are drawn, but overall, we suffer because we don’t comprehend the beauty of our fatih.

    I hope the painting goes well and I look forward to seeing it!!!

    1. I agree whole heartedly! For so many, the churches of Europe and all the rich tradition of art are out of reach. There are beautiful books and google… but to experience them first hand is something that requires travelling across the world. With the destruction of so many of our church buildings and the possibility of new ones to be built, maybe it is time that we do invest in sacred art properly! There is so much talent around and so much good will… Let’s pray for a revival (of the art kind!) πŸ™‚

      1. We have been lucky to have the St John the Baptist studio rise up in the last few years here in NZ. Some amazing Catholic art has been coming out of it.

        Now we just need to invest in some!

What do you think?

